Chief Funster Challenge Day #1

Casually stroll down to Sydney Harbour and see THIS BABY waiting for us to board!

IMG_0148

Wondering what’s so special about this vessel? Aside from the fact that Brad Pitt was on it the day before and Lady Gaga was on it a couple weeks back, this beautifully furnished yacht would cruise us around Sydney Harbour showing us a VIP view of the Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge, Luna Park and other lovely Sydney homes and establishments.

IMG_0253

We left our shoes at the dock, climbed on board and were presented with a bit of bubbly to help us set sail through the harbour. No cloud above us that day could ruin the happiness and excitement from the exploration of  Sydney Harbour. It was an invigorating experience to pass through the harbour and gaze at the different architecture of homes that lined the shore. I’ve always been a fan of mansion touring and house hunting so it was exciting to compare the homes along the harbour to those of the notable homes I’ve seen in the US.

IMG_0176

There were a good amount of people sailing that day and it was interesting to see each vessel behaving differently in the wind. One sail boat was almost horizontal and looked as though it were about to blow over. I was frightened for the crew, but the managed to keep on their feet and get the sail back to it’s vertical position. I’ve always been interested in learning how to sail so I enjoyed seeing the Sydneysiders making the most of the day out on the water and relishing the wind passing their their hair.

IMG_0205

IMG_0218

Me enjoying the luxurious “Ghost” vessel cruising through Sydney Harbour

After the harbour cruise, it was time to get ready for the night’s events at the Sydney Opera House! I dazzled my eyes, vamped my lips, slid into my heels and strutted on down to the Opera Bar where we met up with Ignatius Jones, one of the world’s leading major event directors, creative strategists and event script-writers.  “Iggy” [as he prefers to be called] is the Creative Advisor of Vivid Sydney and Co- Creative Director of Pacha Sydney. He was also one of the Directors of the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games Opening and Closing Ceremonies. As a fellow creative thinker, I was overjoyed to talk to Iggy. It was interesting and enlightening to see his train of thought and how he painted a picture with his words of every vision I had inquired about. We conversed about all different parts of the process of creative events from how to string the lights to making sure there was a sanitary committee for garbage and toilets. It’s the small things that can make or break an event and Iggy understands the importance of event fluidity.

IMG_0280

Cameron and I outside the Sydney Opera House/Opera Bar excited for the night’s events!

After chatting with Iggy over dinner at the Opera Bar, we went behind the scenes of the Opera House to meet with Stephen Page, the Artistic Director of Bangarra Dance Theatre where we inquired about their latest performance “Blak” that we would shortly see. Having researched “Blak” and the Bangarra Dance Theatre prior to meeting with Stephen, it was intriguing speaking with Stephen and seeing his vision behind the performance and all the work that was put into it to make it possible.

Seeing “Blak” was a powerful experience. I am usually not much of a fan of contemporary dance, I generally prefer musicals, but I have to admit that from an artistic stand point, Blak was phenomenal! You could feel the struggle and the pain of the dancers. I don’t want to give away too much of the performance, but the coolest part, in my opinion, was at the end when the dancers had completed their final number and sand fell from the ceiling as they backed away in a single horizontal line across stage. Simply, breath taking!

But the night’s not over yet!

IMG_0291

IMG_0284

After seeing “Blak” at the Sydney Opera House, Iggy took us to the Ivy for Pacha! Pacha is known at the best club night in Sydney every Saturday night and TRUST ME you won’t want to miss out on this! The DJ was bumpin hard in the main section of Pacha, but the coolest part about this club is that it feels more like 7 different clubs all in one. When you go into different rooms of the club, there are different DJs bustin the tunes to create different club atmospheres for every type of club goer. There’s your expected techno/electronica, but then enter the next room and you’ve got Kanye tellin you to “ball so hard”. Sound like a good time? Nah. Sounds like THE BEST time! Pacha, you definitely run the night as the best club in Sydney! If you stay in one of the club rooms long enough, you’ll be greeted by the sexy Pacha girls who strut the ceilings above you and put on a brief dance routine just long enough to tease you leaving you wanting to come back to Pacha next Saturday night. If I stay in Sydney long enough, I’d try to become a Pacha girl myself! What girl wouldn’t want to glam up and work it for a lively night crowd?

IMG_0295

 

While at Pacha, Iggy introduced us to James Brown, the costume designer of the Pacha girls. This week’s theme had something to do with insects so each pacha girl repped as a busty bug. I truly enjoyed meeting so many different creative thinker throughout the night. It was refreshing seeing the similarities in myself that I shared with these key industry professionals. I often feel crazy sometimes as a creative thinker when talking to a lateral thinker, but when you get a group of creatives in the same room, you never know what you’ll conjure up! Perhaps something along the lines of Vivid Sydney? I think so ;)

Not a bad welcome to Sydney, eh? The views and experience only get better from here! So tell me. Are you thinking about traveling to Australia anytime soon? ;)

Posted on June 18, 2013, in Top 3 Finalist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Michele Winkler

    It all sounds amazing. Your descriptive writing makes all that you did sounds amazing… I wish I read all this before I went to Australia 10 years ago because I didn’t see any of this and I feel I really missed out on alot. I will have to go back and re-visit just so I can visit the places you are describing.. You photographs are beautiful. I feel like I am there with you. Continue with the updates and pictures so I know what to plan for my next trip back there. Great job Funkmaster BMAC … you rock.

  2. Bahsten Bizzle

    It’s too bad you really have to use your imagination to find anything to do there …Maybe you’ll get lucky soon and find something to do !! Bahahaha !! I wont need a tour guide for Sydney , I’ll just follow this ! Pic’s are great tooo showing What’s up ‘down undah’ !! Stay koool …Be you !!

  3. Fantastic. Looks like Sydney is a lot more fun that Popughkeepsie! Now where did I leave my passport?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

