The Video You’ve All Been Waiting For

When my parents first told me about this contest, I immediately jumped on the computer to apply. When I learned about having to submit a 30 second entry video explaining why I am the best person for this job, my mind went racing in a million different directions. For the past month I have been coming up with different ideas for an entry video, but I couldn’t just pick one. Not to be cocky, but my first thought was “I wish I could have a video camera crew follow me around for a day and submit that” because I am confident that I am perfect for this position. I live and breathe social media. I love networking – there is no such thing as knowing too many people. If you haven’t already noticed from my previous videos and other media, I’m not exactly shy. I’ve had two social media internships at advertising/interactive communications agencies and have also done social media for my college for the past three years in the office of Undergraduate Admissions. I am the President of Marist Toastmasters (a private club of Toastmasters International) and am thiiiiis close to earning my Distinguished Toastmaster (DTM), which is the highest award in the Toastmasters International education program. This is only just a glimpse of my every day life, so how do I squeeze all that into 30 seconds? I’ll let you see for yourself!

I know what you’re thinking… “ok, BMAC, you submitted your entry video, but what happens next?” Well, between April 11th and April 23rd 25 lucky applicants will be notified that they have moved on to the next round of potentially becoming the new Chief Funster for Sydney, Australia. On April 24th, the entry videos of those 25 applicants will be posted on http://www.bestjobs.australia.com. They will then be judged by a panel of representatives from Tourism Australia as well as the relevant State and Territory Tourism Organizations and their representatives in international markets along with media partners in accordance with the criteria set out from April 24th and May 14th. These 25 applicants will be asked to carry out a challenge where each of them must find a high-profile referee to support why they should get the job and submit this directly to Tourism Australia. After that, 3 finalists will be selected and notified on May 15th to progress to the final round. The 3 finalists will be flown to Australia from June 15th- June 21st for a final interview.

Whoa. Is your heart beating as fast as mine?

The past month has been a whirlwind of excitement with preparing for my Send BMAC Down Under social media campaign and making and submitting my entry video. I haven’t been this happy in a long time! I have felt more like myself in this past week creating content for Send BMAC Down Under than I have my entire life (not to be cliche). The only thing that is better than acting upon my creativity and ideas while having the opportunity to network and collaborate with my talented friends is winning the position of Chief Funster!

I have done everything in my power to accurately represent who I am and what I am capable of doing if I were to become Chief Funster. It is no longer in my hands. The fate of the new Chief Funster now lies in the hands of the contest judges! I will continue to blog and post more content for the Send BMAC Down Under Campaign until I hear from the contest so stay tuned! I am in it to win it!!!

professional

Contest information taken from: https://bestjobs.australia.com/TermsAndConditions.html

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Pre-Top 25 Announcement Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Michele Winkler

    You are truly the perfect person for this position…. they would be very lucky to have you… Good luck and kick booty Down Under…

  2. Donald J. Logie, Jr.

    If you have bad luck, you can be the Chief Funster of TM 53. I love the title. Every TM club needs a Chief Funster.

    Much good luck to you. Don Logie, DTM, PDG 53

Leave a Reply

