Glamorous Ambition

You either have it or you don’t. I can’t teach it to you. You have to feel it deep down inside you. What am I talking about? Ambition.

Ambition is defined as “an earnest desire for some type of achievement or distinction, as power, honor, fame or wealth, and the willingness to strive for its attainment”. It’s something that I know I have but I do not define myself by. Why say I’m “ambitious” when I could just show you?

DSC_0298

How Do You Feel Ambition?

It all starts with a goal. When you hear or see something that you know you want, you can feel the excitement bubbling inside of you. As you think through how you’re going to your goal, the bubbling excitement turns into a roaring fire that is hard to contain. Once you know you want something and commit to earning it, there is nothing that stops this burning desire for your goal.

This is how I felt when I learned about the Chief Funster position for the best job in the world contest held by Tourism Australia. It’s easy to get excited about something you think you want for a short period of time, but the way you absolutely know you have to have something is when you can’t fall asleep at night because you’re thinking about it and when you wake up in the morning, it is the first thing on your mind. Sounds like love a little bit, doesn’t it? Well in that case, I’ll say it to the world, I’m in love with Australia and becoming the Chief Funster! But in all seriousness, I’ve never seen myself work so hard for something in my entire life and I’ve had my fair share of challenges til now.

13317_10150157607355468_7505085_nWhen I was a freshman in high school, I signed up for ice hockey. I had always been a decent ice skater and enjoyed floor hockey, so I decided I wanted to play ice hockey. Bless my dear father for agreeing to wake up every Tuesday and Friday to take me to practice at 4am and my mother who shivered through every game. I started as a naïve freshman who just wanted a good workout and some competition in my life. I needed to work for something and hockey was the perfect combination and outlet for my needs. My experience wasn’t as perfect as it sounds. While on the team, I faced animosity from teammates and was even bullied. I began to resent hockey because of my teammates who were souring the experience for me. I wanted to quit so many times. I grew to despise some of the girls on my team. But then I thought, “what good would it do if I quit?” If I quit, they would win. Playing on a team where I was surrounded by insecure, “negative nancies” was no easy task, but they were insignificant. At the end of the day, I played ice hockey for myself. I played to make my family proud and help the winter go by a little quicker. I played to become a better skater and score a few goals. Playing ice hockey was no longer actually about playing ice hockey, it was learning to grow thicker skin and not let insignificant people stand in your way of reaching a higher goal. You know you’re ambitious when you feel you are at your lowest point and you still crave that end goal. I never gave up. I played varsity ice hockey all four years I was in high school and I had never been so proud of myself until I came to college and came across my next challenge and goal.

Playing ice hockey and overcoming animosity is only one example of my many experiences of focusing on an end result and not letting anything come in my way. I learned to not be bothered along the way by people who do not matter in the final equation. My best friend Irina taught me to not to be consumed by people who are irrelevant even though it is hard sometimes to not listen to the haters. When you want something whole-heartedly, you let absolutely no one stand in your way of achieving your goal. I could tell you I’m a hard worker, that I’m optimistic, begin every day with a smile and am self-motivated. I could tell you I’m a no limits kind of brainstomer with endless dreams, but what good is a dream? A dream is just a wish that is not acted upon. Well here I am, Australia, turning wishes into actions and giving it everything I’ve got to prove I would be the best Chief Funster. I’m not even sure if any of part of my Send BMAC Down Under campaign will even be considered in the judging process, but I knew I had to do it at even the slightest chance that I could grab your attention and “wow” you with everything I have done and give you a glimpse of everything I am capable of doing. I hope you consider moving me to the next round of becoming your Chief Funster!

“I never look back darling, it distracts from the now”

Edna Mode (from the movie The Incredibles)

DSC_0395

Posted on April 12, 2013, in Pre-Top 25 Announcement Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

