Close The Curtain On Round 2

Andddddd CUT! That’s a wrap, folks! Round 2 of the Best Job In The World contest is officially over. Yesterday I submitted my final official report to Tourism Australia of all my efforts and everything I accomplished in round 2. I tried to make it crisp and to the point. Here is a piece of what I sent in with my report. Click below to see the video I made summarizing my efforts for this round of the contest!

There was a lot that I couldn’t fit into the video or wasn’t meaningful enough to report to Australia. I wish Australia could’ve seen my phone ringing off the hook the whole 2 weeks of different people and places calling me back and making moves for this round. I transformed from a “regular student at Marist College” to the CEO of my own PR agency handling my number one client “Send BMAC Down Under”. For an advertising major, I certainly learned a lot about public relations these past 2 weeks. I had dabbled with PR before, but I would say I’m efficient in it now.

I had so many things running through my head before I pressed the “send” button, as I’m sure all the other Chief Funster candidates did. I had so many thoughts and yet none at all at the same time. My mind was blank. I was just staring at the screen. There was nothing else for me to include. I knew I covered everything. My heart was pounding like a drum and I could feel the energy rush through my finger tips as my pointer finger hovered over the “send” button and then *click*… it was gone. My entire report sent into cyber space and in the hands of the contest judges. It’s up to them now. My future is in their hands.

I’ll tell you what friends, I’ve never wanted something so bad in my life. I gave a speech in Toastmasters last week about success and I wrote it based on my feelings and procedure of the contest. It went a little something like this…

DSC_4734

When you want to be successful as much as you want to breathe, then you’ll be successful. First you have to want something. Really want something. When you think of this “thing”, you feel the burn in your body. The fire ignites in your stomach and spreads out to the ends of your body. You fall asleep thinking about this “thing” and wake up with the same thoughts on your mind. It’s similar to the way you feel when you’re in love.

Next step: do whatever it takes to get this “thing”. Don’t let ANYONE stop you. It takes 8 “no”s in sales before you get 1 “yes”. Let me just tell you what that sounds like… No. No. No. No. No. No! No! NO! yes. People are always waiting for you to fail. No one wants to see someone else succeed. It’s a dog eat dog world out there. People only want what is good for his or herself. My advice to you? Be relentless. That’s a powerful word right there. Do it. Be relentless.

But don’t do anything that doesn’t seem natural. Do you. Be you. No one else could possibly be you, so do you.

DSC_5191

The ultimate key to success, you ask? Do what you love. It’s what you want to do. Everything else will fall into place from there. It’s true what they say, when you do what you love, you never work a day in your life. So do what you love. I really love social media. What I love even more than social media is having fun! Half the fun of social media is showing and talking about how much fun you had living life to its fullest.

Having the opportunity to be Chief Funster would be an absolute dream come true. It makes too much sense in my life right now. I am graduating college in just over 2 weeks. I would have most of the summer off then start being the Chief Funster in August (which is my birthday month! HOLLA!). Yes, that’s right, I graduate in 17 days. I wouldn’t be sacrificing my last moments and memories EVER in college if I didn’t think every second and ounce of the time and energy I’ve put into this job wasn’t worth it. Everything happens for a reason, right?

And with that, my friends, I leave you with this– the definition of a Chief Funster according to UrbanDictionary.com

Urban Dictionary Chief Funster

photo

Posted on May 8, 2013, in Round 2 Blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

