BMAC: Chief Funster Finalist & Marist Grad!

Soooooo first THIS happens:

CF Finalist

Then THIS happened!

BMAC grad

It’s been a VERY busy couple of weeks, SBDU fans! Now it’s time to dish out how it all went down…

Second semester senior year of college. It’s finals week. The Top 3 announcement of Chief Funster is scheduled to be anytime between 4:30-6:30am in the morning on Wednesday, May 15th. Do I stay up and wait for the announcement? DUH! That is the obvious choice! Who would be able to sleep through that kind of thing anyways?! But if I don’t go to sleep, will I be able to focus during my group project for my final presentation? Decisions, decisions, decisions! I tried to stay up all night and made it to about 3:30am before I dozed off because my anxiety over the announcement was through the roof and it put me to sleep. Next thing I know, I wake up and roll over to check my phone and it had already started blowing up. It sort of felt like a dream as I was first opening my eyes and awakening from sleep to see the email from Tourism Australia that looked a little something like this…

TA email

OH. MY. GOD. I MADE IT TO TOP 3 FOR CHIEF FUNSTAHHHH! I immediately called my mother and when she answered she said, “NO. WAY.” before I even said ANYTHING! Then I hear her waking up my father saying, “Malcolm, WAKE UP! Brittany made it to Top 3 for Chief Funster!!!!” I wasn’t able to talk to my mother long before I get a phone call from an unknown number. I answer , “Hello?” and hear, “G’day, BMAC! It’s Matt McInnes from Tourism Australia! Congratulations on making it to Top 3 for Chief Funster!”

Let’s just rewind for a second…

First I wake up to find out that I made it to Top 3 for Chief Funster and now AUSTRALIA, my dream, is CALLING ME at 5am to CONGRATULATE ME on getting the opportunity to go visit THEM?! How many awesome things can happen in one day?! Try how many awesome things can happen in 2 weeks!!! Ever since this moment, my life has been a whirlwind and I’m loving every moment. Each day I lose a little more sleep, but I gain a little more excitement! I DID IT! I’M GOING TO AUSTRALIA! WAHOO!!!!!!! I got countless texts, calls, tweets, likes, posts, etc of congratulations and they are still coming in! I am very proud of myself and am thrilled that Australia has selected me to go down undahhh to interview with them in person.

For all of you who were worried about me during finals week… I made Dean’s List, so I must’ve done alright! OH, and I graduated from Marist College this past Saturday with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communications- Advertising and a minor in Business. Not too shabby, huh?

receiving my diploma from Marist College's President Dr. Dennis J. Murray

receiving my diploma from Marist College’s President Dr. Dennis J. Murray

But the fun is not over yet! I met with President Murray a couple days before graduation to tell him about my success in being Top 3 for Chief Funster thus far and check out how we decided to celebrate…

YEP! That’s my ENTIRE graduating class right there SCREAMING “Send BMAC Down Under” and doing the Aussie cheer! I graduated with over 1,400 people and ALL OF THEM are represented here [although we couldn’t get a wide enough angle to show everyone] and how fabulous does that “SEND BMAC DOWN UNDER” sign look?! Thank you, President Murray for ordering the sign and getting the Marist College graduating Class of 2013 to celebrate with me!

I was also featured in follow up articles with The Boston Globe, Newsday and The Poughkeepsie Journal. Tomorrow morning I am going to be on Fox 25 News where I will be interviewed by Gene Lavanchy about The Best Jobs In The World contest, Chief Funster and Send BMAC Down Under! How cool is that?! I am BEYOND excited for my television debut! But what shall I wear? Find out tomorrow morning at 8:55am on Fox 25 news!

Catch ya later SBDU loversss 😉

Posted on May 29, 2013, in Top 3 Finalist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

