“BMAC In Aus” Designer Fashion

It’s getting down to the time SBDU fans. What time am I talking about? PACKING TIME! Only 1 short day left until my departure to Australia, but what shall I wear? Normal BMAC protocol states that I want to stand out from the crowd as a unique individual and strategically differentiate myself. So let me know tell you a little story of how I am going to do just that because of a phenomenal opportunity that came my way…

After making it as a Top 3 Finalist for Chief Funster, my friend Rachel congratulated me and said she wanted to do something for me that really showed her congratulations because she was so proud of me and all of my hard work. Rachel is in my graduating class and graduated from Marist as a fashion design major. For her the best favor she can do for anyone is to make them clothing, and whenever she does, the person is always so thankful and it’s the most rewarding feeling ever, and plus it’s what she loves to do.  I couldn’t believe that Rachel wanted to personally design me clothes for my trip to Australia and I jumped at the opportunity!

Rachel and I at graduation from Marist College Class of 2013

Rachel and I at graduation from Marist College Class of 2013

During finals week at the closing of our senior year of college last month, Rachel and I sat outside in the grass on a beautiful sunny day brainstorming different “looks” for me for Australia. We wanted to incorporate the themes of Australian patriotism (since the job of Chief Funster is to promote tourism to Australia) as well as my Send BMAC Down Under campaign of being a small town girl from Massachusetts and receiving my higher education in New York. We wanted to incorporate different parts of Australian and American culture, so both served as inspiration for the “BMAC In Aus” fashion designs. Here are the results!I <3 AUS

For my “off the plane” attire, Rachel designed the “I ❤ AUS” shirt. She got the idea from our “I ❤ NY” shirts that many people who visit NYC buy. Being residents of NY for four amazing years of college, tying in the “I ❤ NY” shirt idea brings in part of our New York culture. I will also be incorporating a little more of my Massachusetts roots with a blue blazer, nantucket red shorts and boat shoes. My favorite part about this shirt is that in the heart, Rachel drew the Australian flag!

IMG_7442

Next Rachel designed me an evening dress to wear at night for a more formal occasion. This dress was inspired by the Union Jack on the Australian flag and the color [red] was chosen because it combines the Australian flag and our Marist school color.  The color has a meaning that is close to both of our hearts, and it ties both aspects of Australian patriotism and Marist school-spirit all in one dress. The most intricate part of this dress is the cuffs. Rachel hand beaded the Union Jack of the Australian flag on the cuffs of my sleeves for this dress.

When I asked Rachel what her favorite design was that she made for me, she said, “Definitely the red dress.  At first I was afraid it would be too simple but the contrast of the fabrics and the little bit of glam on the cuffs made it simply elegant and I’m just in love with how it turned out!”

THANK YOU, RACHEL for designing and personally handmaking me such beautiful clothing! I am SO excited to wear them in Australia, tying both of our cultures together and killin it in Aus 😉

While Rachel’s love is fashion, it’s time I share with you one of my own personal loves and obsessions: nail polish! It was kind of a “no brainer” when it came time for me to choose what color to paint my nails for my trip to Australia on Monday. I went with “Tasmanian Devil Made Me Do It” by OPI from the Australia Collection.

photo

I’ll only be rockin “Tasmanian Devil Made Me Do It” on my piggy toes though because I want to really be able to get involved in the Chief Funster challenges and not have to worry about my nails looking perfect for the evening events. My fingers will be going “au naturale” in the land down under, but it will be more than worth it!

I am super excited to show off my Aussie inspired designer fashion in Australia in only one more day! I am hoping Tourism Australia and other followers of the Best Jobs In The World contest get a kick out of my strategically designed clothes. I’ll let you know how it goes and will post pictures of me sporting the “BMAC In Aus” fashion line by Rachel Elle 🙂 Now it’s time to get packing!!!

Posted on June 9, 2013, in Top 3 Finalist and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

